I Found You by Lisa Jewell

30753651

 

Title: I Found You
Author: Lisa Jewell
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Publisher: Atria Books
# of Pages: 352
Release Date: April 25, 2017
Buy: Amazon | Chapters 

 

 

 

Book Blurb: (Goodreads)

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

Review: 

This was my first novel by Lisa Jewell and I was not disappointed! I’ve been on a mystery thriller kick lately and my favourite part is trying to figure out where the author is going with things before its revealed! After reading so many in this genre, you start to see similar story lines and similar characters, fortunately, I Found You was something all its own.

Lisa Jewell created such compelling characters. Usually, I have to somehow relate to characters in order to become invested in the story. While I didn’t feel that I could relate to them, they were all so interesting and complex. I was immediately intrigued as to what was going on with these characters and how they were going to be connected. Lisa Jewell did such an amazing job with the development of each character that you couldn’t help but be drawn into the storyline. While the story definitely began on the slower side of things towards the mid-way point it really starts to pick up and the book became un-put-down-able for me!

My one issue with the book was that there were times that I felt lost in the time-line. The novel jumps between the past and present and it became difficult to follow. I believe that part of this confusion was intentional to lead the reader to certain conclusions, but at times I thought there might be a little too much back-story for each character.

Overall, I really enjoyed this novel and didn’t find the ending predictable at all! While this was my first Lisa Jewell novel it definitely will not be my last! Thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada for generously providing me with a copy to review!

Rating: 3.5/5

 

Advertisements

One thought on “I Found You by Lisa Jewell

  1. Hi there I am so grateful I found your blog, I really found
    you by accident, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I
    am here now and would just like to say cheers for
    a fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it
    and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome jo. http://sex-profielen.com/profiel/hanswhiteho.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s