Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

45186670

 

Title: Twice in a Blue Moon
Author: Christina Lauren
Genre: Romance
Publisher: Gallery Books
# of Pages: 358
Release Date: October 22, 2019
Buy: Amazon | Chapters 

 

 

 

Funky Beats

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the “delectable, moving” (Entertainment Weekly) My Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it… (Goodreads)

Funky Beats-2

This was my first read by author Christina Lauren. I’ve heard so many great things about her work, so I was really excited to dive into Twice in a Blue Moon. I want to start off by complimenting whoever designed the cover because it’s absolutely adorable and really catches the eye.

The story is broken up into two parts. In the past when Tate and Sam first meet on a two-week vacation abroad and fourteen years later in the present, working on a movie Tate is starring in.

I really enjoy the second chance romance trope, so I enjoyed that Christina Lauren wrote scenes from both the past and present to really bring readers into the story. I have to say that it was the past that really kept me hooked. Tate and Sam have immediate chemistry and the moments they share together are sure to put a smile on your face. It was the present that I seemed to struggle with. I found that the chemistry just wasn’t the same as it was in the past. The connection that they formed on that vacation didn’t seem to carry over into the present until almost the end. I think if there were a few more moments for them to reform that bond in the present it really would have solidified their relationship for me. The secondary characters were very vibrant and brought a humour to the story that I really enjoyed.

I did like the inclusion of the father daughter relationship. I think it added another element to the story. It wasn’t a picture perfect relationship and I thought it added a realistic feel to the story. Overall, this was a quick read because you just had to know how things were going to turn out. Christina Lauren definitely has a talent for making you care about her characters. I can’t wait to read more of her work. If you love the second chance romance trope I would definitely recommend this book to you.

Funky Beats-3

 

 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s